On 15 June 2023, the Ata, Ata-Manobo, Blaan, and Obu Manuvu Indigenous Cultural Communities/Indigenous Peoples (ICCs/IPs) of Davao received their Abaca Stripping Machines (ASM) donated by Bounty Fresh and Chooks-to-Go.
The National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) headed by its Chairperson, Hon. Allen A. Capuyan in cooperation with the DA-PhilFIDA, 27IB of Philippine Army, PNP, Task Force Davao and the Davao City LGU enjoined the Chooks-to-Go and Bounty Fresh represented by its President, Mr. Ronald MascariƱas and its Senior Vice President, Dr. Erasmus Paderes in handing over the donations in a ceremony held in Marilog District, Davao City.
The ASM will promote a sustainable abaca livelihood and open more opportunities that would boost the Socio-Economic status of the ICCs/IPs. Through the use of these machines, the IP abaca farmers can produce high grade abaca fibers in no time, thereby improving labor efficiency and pricing competitiveness in the local and international markets.
Chairperson Allen Capuyan graced the event, and left the community with an inspirational message. In his speech, he mentioned that the donor is part of President Marcos Jr.’s Private Sector Advisory Council on Agriculture. It is a council composed of business conglomerates engaged in the agriculture industry that established the Kapatid Angat Lahat Agri Program or KALAP wherein the Bounty Fresh and the NCIP are among the key members. This collaborative project aims to distribute Abaca Stripping Machines to several IP communities nationwide. He further mentioned that the Agta and Agta-Tabangnon ICCs/IPs in Bicol have also received the same machine last May 29, 2023, and other communities will also receive theirs in the coming months.
Also present to witness the event are the officials and staff from NCIP, Ms. Glenda Alcantara Pua and Ms. Shanna Villado of OSESSC, Dir. Reynaldo Dingal of OEHR, and Dir. Mumar Mamukid and Ms. Shirley Iguianon of Region 11. Representatives from the above mentioned cooperating agencies were well represented. The Indigenous Political Structure and other IP representatives from the recipient community also graced the event.